To blog or not to blog?

As most of you know by now, I am terrible at keeping up correspondence. I also hate blogging but a friend, who has been diligently blogging about her summer travels, inspired me to start one. So here it is – my blog.

To whom I have sent this blog, I deeply care about you and don’t want you to think that I am a good-for-nothing niece, friend, daughter, etc. I know that I have not kept regular correspondence with many of you and even though these posts are not personal letters to each of you individually, they will be written with the same integrity, honesty, and love. This is my way of keeping in touch with you, in my little way, and I apologize for sucking so much at writing letters. I just hope I will be able to maintain this blog, otherwise I’ll have to start apologizing for sucking at blogging too…(ough, maybe this isn’t a good idea…).

My goal is to update at least once a week to tell you about what’s going on in my life right now. I’m not really sure what to anticipate but I think the blog will be mostly filled with my trials and  tribulations of living in France, university life, and such. If there is any information you think might be helpful to someone, feel free to pass the blog along. Also, PLEASE PLEASE comment on the post if you read it and want to tell me something. I want this to be a dialogue, not a one-sided conversation.

Current update:

I live in Lille, France with my boyfriend Olivier. I am on the longest summer vacation of my life and have so far: moved out of my student apartment in Charlottesville, gotten 4 impacted wisdom teeth out with a recovery of 2 days, saved a woman’s life by giving her CPR when she had a seizure and will now have CPR classes re-established in the Charlottesville public schools, studied in Falmouth, Jamaica for a month with a graduate level architecture course learning drafting and doing my own sociological studies on Caribbean masculinity for my Gender Studies major (I am a Sociology and Gender Studies double major at the University of Virginia), and am now in Lille.

This weekend my friends Hannah and Arthur, Olivier and I went to a music festival, Les Nuits Secretes, and had a great time dancing until early in the morning to some really awesome bands. (More to be written about this later, I think…)

I’m learning that the French language has many, many more exceptions than rules. That little French women stay skinny because they smoke like chimneys and eat like birds. And that some French men won’t stop saying Bonjour to you if they like your ass (though definitely not as annoying as the tttsssttt noise that Jamaican men make). Also, that I really need a haircut but am absolutely terrified to get one because I don’t want anyone to butcher my hair.

In short, this is a feeble (or maybe grand, depending on my level of laziness) effort to reach out to you and tell you what’s going on in my life. I know…this is a long long post, but it is the introduction and wanted to make it satisfactory and informative.

I hope you are all doing well and I send my love to each of you.

n1563720102_30212156_2959976

Olivier and me in Paris, March 2009

10 Comments

Filed under Introduction

10 responses to “To blog or not to blog?

  1. Congrats on your first blog post, Lise! Don’t forget to start making the “ugly face” at the overly friendly men… I look forward to checking up on your adventures when I’m back to the schoolwork grind in Princeton.

  2. Liv

    hey lise, i’m glad you’re keeping a blog! how are you adjusting to the language? i’m still terrified of my own study abroad prospects next spring.

  3. carolyn

    Blogging has its pleasures. So glad that you are having a good time in France. Hope to see you in the spring.

  4. Mikaela

    I am so glad to read that you are enjoying yourself. Definitely keep up the blogging, i love it! xoxo

  5. Pip

    This is a great idea Lise, I’m suprised you weren’t already into blogging, it seems like your kind of thing. Cant wait to see you in september.

    p.s. you look mad french in that picture, good work blending in, they’ll never see you coming

  6. Mom

    What a fun way to keep in touch. You are a natural for blogging. We look forward to more! xo M

  7. Cool post! I feel like you are already starting being addicted to WordPress 😉
    If you want to know more about the Nuits Secrètes, check out this : http://www.kub3.fr

  8. Suzanne

    Hi Lise. I think a blog is a great idea.Sounds like you are having a great time. Now that Claire has changed her major to Art History she has a clear purpose for going abroad, and probably will. Looking forward to seeing you. xoSuzanne

    P.S. You can’t blame the men; weren’t you crowned “Ms. Best Booty” at one time??

  9. Kim

    Dear Lise,
    How great to read a blog from an as-lazy-email-communicator-as-me! I’m so looking forward to read your updates and really hope it will encourage me to update a little more as well.
    The blog looks great! You do as well.
    The French language….. well, if you after a while understand them that is a great achievement in itself. Damn, they speak fast.
    Love you loads.
    xkiM

  10. Theresa

    Hi Lise my sweet and dear cousin (o;

    I am just as bad if not worse than you with writing mails and letters so you are more than forgiven on my part!!
    Your life sounds lovely and im so glad you’re happy.. got a little bit jalous almost (o:
    I will also try to keep in touch via your blog…

    Im good, still living with my boyfriend in Vallensbæk (Denmark) and hopefully looking at a promotion workwise before too long…

    take care
    love Theresa

Leave a Reply

